Setting the Oven to Christmaclysmic

I don’t know how many of you have noticed this, but we are firmly within the week of Christmas. Here at my house, Christmas is a BIG DEAL, and this is mostly my fault.

Growing up, Christmas was the…well, the cataclysmic event of the year. Everything changed for Christmas–bedtimes were pushed back, candy was freely given, and little hands squished in flour and went “elbow shopping” despite the infinite complications of doing these things with a 5-year-old shadow.

Cherpumple!

Today I have been furiously cleaning house. Tomorrow I will finish Christmas cards and grocery shop, and then Thursday will begin the Baking Extravaganza. There are a lot of things on the list this year: Butterscotch Chip cookies, Snickerdoodles, Pie Cake (based on the recipe of my guildy Saurian), and a one-layer version of a Cherpumple (so I guess it will only be a Pump?).

In honor of this, my very favoritest time of year, let’s give TLBC a Christmaclysmic shake down. Forget heroics, achievements, and dailies–tell me what recipe I just HAVE to try, and if you’re not the cooking kind, tell me about your favorite holiday food!

2 Comments

Filed under Blogstuff

2 responses to “Setting the Oven to Christmaclysmic

  1. I’ve never even heard of Cherpumple but I know I have to make it and try it out now. It just looks too good to pass. Hearing about your family traditions really warms my heart. Hope you have a great one. 🙂

    • battlechicken

      This will be my first attempt at making a Cherpumple, even only 1 layer of it; I’m eager to see how it comes out. Maybe I’ll post pics on Twitter if it comes out reasonably well. I’m sure that no one will be bringing this to my in-laws’! If you do make it, I’d love to hear how it comes out! 😀

Leave a Reply

