Topic Soup: Guild Tags, Real ID, & Loremaster

A lot of things have been spinning around in my mind lately. I’ve started several posts only to let them stagnate in “Recent Drafts.” I might still come back to them at some point, but in the mean time, I’m going to hit on a few of these topics briefly so that they’re not buzzing around my head quite so much.

The Meaning of a Guild Tag

Despite beliefs of the contrary, many people (including me) see the guild tag as an extra title. People expect certain behavior from members of certain guilds, both good and bad.

Some guilds have reputations for being good players. Some guilds have reputations for being awful players. Some are known for having seriously nice people, and others for being full of jerkwads and ninja looters. Some are elitist, some are considerate; some are friendly, some are crude.

The key here, though, is that it’s not based on progression. There are a lot more raiding guilds these days. Because it’s easier to gear up and players can experience content on a 10-man scale, many people are less intimidated by 25-man raiding and there are therefore many more raiding guilds and more successful raiding guilds.

Apparently there are people who believe that because a guild may no longer be set apart in progression, it doesn’t matter how its members behave. It does. There are still enough people who take note of guild tags to warrant staying aware of your guild’s reputation.

What do you want your guild tag to say about you? I want mine to say, “Probably a decent player and a good person.” That’s what it used to mean, and I’d like to keep it that way.

If you’re a member of a guild, consider how your behavior will reflect on your guildies. Are you going to be the reason someone sees your guild tag and assumes that everyone in your guild is as big of a know-it-all jerk as you are? Or are you going to be the reason someone feels a wave of relief wash over them because they know they can probably trust members of your guild?

I know which person I want to be.

Real(ID) Big Hoopla

This is my name.

Everyone has touched on this in the past week and a half. I don’t want to write a whole blog post to beat a dead horse. Things I liked:

  • The overall community. I haven’t seen us band together for anything like that. It made me seriously proud to be, as my husband would say, “a forum people.”
  • The awareness. This whole thing made me and a lot of other people take a long hard look at our internet security. I always said I didn’t want my blog/WoW character to be too easily connected to my real life person, and I’m glad I looked more closely and bridged gaps to prevent that.
  • The result. I’m pleased that Blizzard considered our point of view and changed their minds. I agree that the “for now” line is a little unsettling, but I’m not going to let something that may or may not happen in the future spoil my happiness now. I’m going to stay aware of it, and if it comes up again, my opinion will be the same.

Things I didn’t like:

  • Selfishness. There were a lot of people who felt that because they weren’t personally concerned about their own privacy that no one else should be, either. There were people who were okay with the forum change themselves who still considered how others might be affected, and I appreciate that. Those who didn’t think of anyone but themselves frustrated me.
  • Rudeness. Two people can disagree and still be polite. I saw waaay too many people bashing the other side’s point of view. If they had respectfully stated their disagreement, we all could’ve gone back to talking about beta or how awesome druids are without anyone having hard feelings left over.
  • Going overboard with personal information. I’ll be honest, I had no problem with using names of people who were brave and/or dumb enough to put their info out there to prove a point. That was the purpose of the names being thrown out there. But once the point was proven, there was no reason to continue posting information. I also disagree with posting information of Blizzard employees who DID NOT put their names out on the forums. They didn’t challenge anyone to find their info, and there’s no way of knowing if they personally agreed with the change or not.

FREAKING LOREMASTER


I decided to do Loremaster several months ago. I started in Kalimdor, knowing it would be the biggest chore. After earning the achievement for Kalimdor, I took a break from it. While I was on my little break from Loremaster, I got burned out and was barely playing at all. I finally came back a couple of weeks ago and decided to finish it.

Eastern Kingdoms was harsh. Not as harsh as Kalimdor, but finding those last few quests were a real pain. I moved onto Outlands, which was considerably easier. However, Nagrand left me one quest short, and I just couldn’t find what I was missing.

Finally, after finishing up Netherstorm and being literally a single quest away from the achievement, I went back to WoWhead and found one I had overlooked: Howling Wind. I remembered deleting it from my bank bags a few months ago, and realized I had certainly never picked it back up. The very first Storm Rager I saw and killed gave me the quest item. With Ultraking’s arm around me and “I Gotta Feeling” playing in the background, I flew to the Throne of Elements and turned in my quest.

I know I’m not the first person to get Loremaster and I’m not the last, but OH MY GOSH, this was a big one for me. I won’t even lie, the letter from Tyrande made me shed a few tears IRL.

Rock on.

3 Comments

Filed under Blogstuff

3 responses to “Topic Soup: Guild Tags, Real ID, & Loremaster

  1. Congratulations on Loremaster! Big huzzah!

  2. Pingback: 5 Things I Want From A Guild « Tastes Like Battle Chicken

Leave a Reply

