A Different Point of View: Learning by Switching Roles

Your life? No! Mine!

This is something that’s been on my mind a bit for the past several weeks. I’ve been leveling my warlock and I have been using the random dungeon finder between quests. Especially in the lower dungeons, I found quite a few of the healers were losing gobs of mana healing me. Why? Because they didn’t know that I could use Drain Life to get back my health from my Life Tap and were healing me as if I were seconds from dying every time I tapped.

This made me wonder how much I didn’t know on my druid before I switched roles and went from healing to dps. This led to a discussion with a guildy who agreed that the more you understand each class and role, the better you become as a player.

It’s exactly what happened to me. I realize that now, when I was healing, I had a limited view of what else was going on in the raid. I knew who was tanking, I knew when they needed to be healed the most, I knew where to stand and where not to stand, and that about covers it. I rolled my eyes when my husband would pound the desk in frustration because he didn’t get healed, and I’d laugh when he’d gripe about not being able to overtake our dps warrior in damage.

This is not the tree you're looking for...

Since switching to moonkin, I’ve had to learn a whole bunch of things. I learned how to use DoTs effectively. I learned how to balance stat caps. I truly learned about min/maxing, the importance of the right rotation, and how to time the use of my trinkets and cooldowns. I stopped keyboard turning and I gained a new respect for the dps who lived and could pump out the numbers like my mageboy does.

Then I started raiding part-time on my mage, and I learned about juggling damage and mana consumption, how to truly control my aggro, and how to not blink the wrong direction (more important than you might think).

Then I rolled my paladin and tanked some instances. My goodness, I have new respect for all you tanks out there. I learned about aggro control, pulling, and I got a small taste of the weight of the responsibility of tanking and the frustration that comes with it.

Bring it!

I had no idea that I was fine-tuning my game as I went along. I was just playing because it was fun–it’s fun to do something new, and to try something and succeed–but along the way I picked up subtle things here and there that changed the way I played. It broadened my awareness of timing, movement, and the epic way that 25-people in their own worlds work together to do something cool.

A lesson well-learned, if you ask me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogstuff

Leave a Reply

