Pulling Patch 3.1 – Part 2: Excitement

I was going to do an in-depth post about the profession changes, but I’ve got to tell you all about the things that I’m excited about first.

Well, right off the bat I have to tell you that though my math was right on Nature’s Grace, I completely missed the fact that it’s going from a charged affect to a 3 second buff, which means you theoretically can get two casts of at least Wrath, or perhaps a SF and Wrath, with the buff, instead of it only affecting the next cast.  Thank you Lykos, for pointing this out on my last post.  Pity, though; I was so proud of my math.

Argent Tournament.  Okay, business aside, I love the Argent Tournament.  It’s the first PvP I’m good at.  Yes, the dailies that send you to Grizzly Hills, Storm Peaks, and Crystalsong are a little meh, but at least you get to kiss frogs and blow up rocks.  And it’s all worth it for the moments you spend dueling a mounted friend.  I don’t even care that it sounds dirty, although I don’t mind spending two seconds to acknowledge it.  I’m happy to say that I completed all the dailies and got my Tilted! achievement this morning.  Tips:  Keep your defend up as much as possible and use shield breaker constantly.  Charge and Thrust when those two are not a concern.

Talent Preview.  I am notorious for accidentally clicking into the wrong talent and paying 50g for a respec fix.  No longer!  With this display change, you can assign your talents and take a good hard look at them before confirming it.  Turn this on by going to Interface > Display > Preview Talent Changes.  Tada!  No more 50g respec repairs.

New LFG.  Don’t you hate when you’re putting a group together, and you come across the Paladin (it really is always a Paladin) who didn’t bother to put in their LFG notes which spec they are?  And then, when you whisper them, they act put off that you didn’t automagically know they’re ret (because they aways are)?  Screw that, now we have built-in class role options in our LFG system.

Saved Instance Warning.  About a month ago I joined a group for 10-man Vault of Archavon.  When the warrior and I walked into the instance (we were there from WG), we both got the “You are now saved to this instance” message.  The raid leader assured us he was not saved, so we decided to stick it out and hope that it was a bug.  We got to the end of the trash and…no Archavon.  Talk about wasted time.  Now, if you walk into a instance with a Raid ID, you will be warned that you are about to be saved, and you will be given the option to continue the instance or be teleported to the nearest graveyard.

Autoloot Emblems & Badges.  How long does your guild usually spend looting after the Four Horseman or Malygos?  It takes a good long time to give everyone a chance to get the Emblems, especially when someone invariably forgets to close the loot window until 45 seconds after 17 people all spam raid chat about it.  Well, that’s how it used to be.  Now, when the first person loots the boss, Emblems will be automatically distributed to the rest of the raid, providing they haven’t left the instance.

Clams.  No, I don’t really care about clams.  But I do love that they got their very own spot in the patch notes:

Clams

  • A new clam, the Giant Darkwater Clam, can be obtained by fishing in Wintergrasp. This mighty clam has a greatly increased chance to drop pearls, and yields up to five times the regular amount of clam meat.
  • Loot from clams now stacks correctly!
  • Changed the icon for Succulent Clam Meat so it doesn’t look quite as disgusting. Now 100% more succulent!

I promise I will get back to you with profession changes soon, but right now, I have dueling to do!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogstuff, Information

Leave a Reply

