The End of the Expansion: Heroic Garrosh, The Realm Connection, & A Bit of Mischief

I’ve said it before, but when Mists of Pandaria was first announced, I balked. “Of course, I’m still going to play it,” I readily admitted, “but I don’t know if I’m going to like it.”

Turns out, I did, but it hasn’t been an easy road for my guild this time around. At the very beginning (and I do mean the very beginning–MSV), we lost 12 people in 2 weeks, two separate groups that broke off and went 10-man. This left us down half of a raid group and without four of our 6 healers. 

MSV Wipe

This expansion for our guild has been about discovering who we are and what we want to be as a guild now, or at least, that’s how it has been for me. I have very clear ideas about what I want to see in Warlords of Draenor, and my raiding goals are higher than they’ve ever been. Whatever happens next, I am certain that Mythic raiding is going to be an adventure.

Speaking of raiding goals, we reached one we had never actually set before as a guild: clearing the content before the next patch. It’s been an uphill climb from those troubling moments in Mogu’shan, and there were times this expansion that I honestly wondered if we were going to be raiding much at all.

But we pulled through. We got stuck on 25-man Thok for over 2 months and made the decision to go 10-man, on which we cleared Thok through Paragons, and then, this week, 188 wipes in, Garrosh died. 

Grats, CCT. Thank you for not giving up on the guild and thank you for not giving up on me. 

Heroic Garrosh

Durotan & Ysera 4 Lyfe

Durotan has been my home since the day I created Ambermist. From those fledgling days as a healer to learning to Moonkin to Siege of Orgrimmar, I’ve been here. In Vanilla and BC, Durotan lost a lot of guilds to free server transfers as they opened up the option for new servers. Wrath was a fun time for the server. Dalaran certainly promotes spending time with the people around you.

From Dollarsign to Casual’s Gem Cuts to Secular’s insistence on making it impossible to fish for coins to nude dance parties because, well, why not, Wrath was good times. 

Dalaran: City of Nudes

Cataclysm and Mists of Pandaria saw a steady decline in our server population, especially for the Horde side, and a bottoming out of progression. We were never a highly ranked server anyway, but we went from a small handful of 25 and quite a few 10 man guilds progressing through content to an extremely small group of guilds that made it into Heroic Siege, and only two so far that have completed it, the first of which only moved to Durotan earlier this year.  

No one is surprised to see “Durotan is dead!” in Trade chat anymore, when there’s active Trade chat at all, and there has been a lot of “when are we going to be merged?” going around. The answer is today, when we merge with Ysera. 

The servers seem similar from what I’ve seen, with a much bigger group of Horde to breathe life into Durotan’s struggling Horde side, and even more Alliance with whom to share the stoop. (Or not, you know, we’re kind of territorial). 

The Stoop

Uh, Clump Check?

 

Welcome, Ysera, I look forward to meeting you!

The Summer Doldrums

Here we are at the end of the expansion in the middle of summer. People are restless, a little (or a lot) bored, and generally causing mischief wherever they go. Sometimes this ends up being some mild trolling, other times it’s Thunderfury vs Thunderfury in an epic melee caster battle. 

Then, sometimes, it’s a fight to see who’s going to be forced to leave the guild, which is what happened last night. I lost. 

After leaving the guild, I asked if anyone was recruiting, and I immediately got an offer from a guild that I couldn’t refuse. 

Check Please 4 Lyfe?

 

And then the other officer that could invite me back to CCT logged off. Then, so did the mage that I was going to promote to get an invite when there was no one else online.

THEY LEFT ME HERE, YOU GUYS. 

It’s okay, though, Check Please has macadamia nut cookies. I think this could work out.

So, that’s my story–how is the end of the expansion treating you, your guilds, and your servers? 

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogstuff, Experiences

Leave a Reply

