Going Mobile

Six years ago, a week after they were available for purchase, my husband and I ordered keychain authenticators. The day it came in the mail, I taped it to my desk, and I haven’t moved it since that day.

Image

To understand the importance of this, you first have to understand that I am about the most scatterbrained¬†individual you can imagine. I lose my phone for at least 2 or 3 days about once every 2 months. My keys are a daily adventure. And then there are the extra special moments, like “Honey, why is your wallet in the freezer?”

My husband switched to the Mobile Authenticator not long after it became an option, but I declined. It’s safer there taped to my desk–sometimes you have to recognize your weaknesses and work with them.

Mobile Requirements

When the Armory app required an authenticator, I considered switching to mobile. I wanted to be able to log in and use the app to chat with guildies, but it wasn’t worth losing my authenticator to me, so I sucked it up and lived without it.

Yesterday, though, everything changed–Hearthstone came to the iPad. We have two iPads, one that the whole family chipped in to buy for the kids, and one from my husband’s work, and I have used them both extensively. It turns out I¬†love tablets.

I knew the minute I opened the Hearthstone app, I would need my authenticator number. Drat.

The truth is, I like the incorporation of mobile options into our games. On Twitter the other day, I couldn’t help but wonder if Blizzard will take the desktop launcher chat-with-friends feature mobile. It seems like the next logical step from Guild Chat on the Armory app to Real ID Chat on a mobile app, and I honestly would think that’s pretty cool.

The Decision to Go Mobile

I can’t deny the importance of being able to have my authenticator on the move anymore. I want in on this mobile movement, and I’m going to have to go for it.

Image

Hey, you can’t deny that it’s mobile.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Blogstuff, Experiences

8 responses to “Going Mobile

  1. I’m not sure if you’re aware of this but one trick is to install the mobile authenticator on one device and then use the restore code feature to install it on the others.

    I’ve done this with my phone, my wife’s phone and our iPad. So I can get my auth code off any of the three devices at any time (they show the same codes).

    Cell phone battery dead? No problem. Heck even if a phone gets stolen I wouldn’t be locked out of battle.net. :)

  2. I have one place where I leave my authenticator because, like yourself, I’d lose my head if it weren’t firmly attached to my body. Don’t know about the iPhone kind of thing yet, however, it does bear some looking into – although that little authenticaor has been my little security blanket for quite a few years.

    • battlechicken

      Yeah, I like the fact that I’ve never had to give it a second thought–it’s just always been there.

      My desk looks a little empty now, too! :-(

  3. I’m glad it’s not just me, my keys are frequently found in the fridge.

  4. I must say I love the mobile authenticator although I only started using it after I was hacked a couple of years ago.

    • battlechicken

      Oh no, getting hacked sucks! :-( We’ve had a few in the guild get hacked in the past couple of years, but I think pretty much everyone has an authenticator now. Definitely handy!

Leave a Reply

