World of Warcraft is My Game

World of Warcraft is my game. I’ve played it regularly for 6 years. Here are some facts about my game:

  • I play to raid.
  • I have one main and many alts. 
  • I spend most of my time and energy on my main.
  • I don’t delete characters once they hit level 40.
  • I like battlegrounds sometimes.
  • I don’t do arenas.
  • I do daily quests, heroics, scenarios, and LFR to get the best gear on my main character.
  • I farm mats for flasks, potions, and food for raiding.
  • I pet battle very, very casually.
  • I like achievements, but I don’t spend a lot of focused energy getting them.

That’s World of Warcraft, that’s my game…

Except it’s also my husband’s game, my daughter’s game, my friend’s game, your game, his game, her game.

My friend doesn’t like to raid. He likes to PvP. He does battlegrounds and arenas. He thinks raiding is stupid and too easy.

My other friend spends hours just crafting. She has a max-level of every profession, but she never raids outside of LFR or does battlegrounds.

Heck, my daughter spends most of her time creating new goblin characters to level through the starting zone over and over.

And guess what?

THAT’S OKAY. 

I aim to do the very best I can in a raid. In my guild, we push our raiders to do the same.

At the end of the night (most of the time), I’ve had fun.

There’s a guild on the same server that is completely casual when it comes to raiding.

They go in with half-unenchanted gear. Sometimes they don’t know their class or switch to a different alt every week. More than half of the time, they don’t know the fight mechanics.

But at the end of night, they’ve had fun!

I would not join their guild. They would not enjoy mine. 

And THAT’S OKAY, too.

I know people who couldn’t care less about transmog, and I know some people who farm instances for months or drop thousands of gold to get gear. Same thing with pets. Same thing with mounts.

I wouldn’t spend thousands of gold on a transmog item. You’re lucky if I spend 100g! 

And that’s okay.

It’s not just my game. It’s not just your game. If the way someone plays their game doesn’t frequently affect the way you play your game, then why does it matter to you?

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, a thousand times a thousand: 

Play and let play.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “World of Warcraft is My Game

  1. Wonderful post :) That’s what is so wonderful about WoW. It can be so many different games to so many different people.

  2. Well said my dear chicken :)

  3. IgorsMIstress

    LOVE THIS! Fantastic post!

  4. This is a lovely post – I never did understand why people put down others for their choices. Having said that, the other side of the coin is when you want to do something, like raid, but there are a few obstacles, such as finding a good raid team, etc. Oh yeah…those other humans….! :)

  5. JD Kenada

    And that’s why many of us never leave. We can do what we want, when we want. :)

  6. What a fantastic post! Definitely one that more folk should read. :)

    • battlechicken

      This came on the back of a bunch of posts and comments I read about people being bad, and the only thing I kept thinking is–why does it matter? They aren’t bothering you! It drives me crazy that people can’t just play and leave others to do the same. >.<

Leave a Reply

