The Twit Storm

I honestly did not realize that many of you keep up with my Twitter.  I have such a hard time following everybody that I usually just skim, so you guys have my kudos.  You are much more patient people than I am.

I’ve had quite a few messages and responses asking me about my recent tweets (it is tweets and not twits, right?!) concerning my guild and what exactly happened.

I’m not going to go into extensive detail.  It’s unnecessary, and it’s guild business.  I will give you enough of the scenario to understand what happened, and we’ll call it a day.

It was brought to my attention in an extremely undiplomatic way that my dps is horrible and that my purpose for being invited to raids was to provide the crit-hungry casters my buff.

The fact is, I was already aware that my dps was low.  I’ve been checking into different things at EJ and Graymatter and other sources, trying some new specs (like the idea that Typhoon might be better for moving fights than speccing into Brambles, since it’s an available instant cast that won’t interefere with our DoT time), and swapping gear in and out to try to find the best fit.  It’s been a frustrating few weeks on the damage meter, that’s for sure.

I switched between 2pcT8/2pcT9.25 and 2pcT9/2pcT9.25 a few times, and found no real difference.  The 4pcT9 seemed to do better at the target dummy, if only slightly (I took an average of damage done for three 3-minute, no-cooldown rotations and used that to find an average dps), but in a raid scenario, it was hard to tell the difference between the two.

I double checked my enchants and my gems.  I made sure my rotation was still accurate.  I played around with things to minimize latency and movement.  I swapped trinkets and rings, and then swapped them again, and then swapped them again.

I still haven’t quite nailed down why I’m pulling 4.5k on 25-heroic Northrend Beasts compared to most other dps being between 5 and 7k.  But I’m doing everything I can to find out.

Finding out that people think you suck is pretty bad.  It’s worse when they downplay the work you’ve put into trying to make it right.  And that’s what it all came down to, and that, combined with some other recent developments, lead to my /gquit.

However, I was poked, prodded, talked to, and convinced, and after discussing my concerns with some of the officers, I agreed to come back.

I love my guild; I really do.  And it’s good to be home.

So now, I keep going.  Keep experimenting; keep learning;  keep trying to improve.  I’m not going to agonize over my consistent 13th spot, but I am going to do everything in my power to push past it.

I am more than a buff.  I am a moonkin.

10 Comments

Filed under Blogstuff, Experiences

10 responses to “The Twit Storm

  1. One of the problems I have is that I move too much. The more you move, the lower your DPS is, so if you can find ways to minimize the time you spend moving (easier said than done), it should increase your DPS. This is something I struggle with a lot since I switch back and forth between DPS & healing all the time. You can also break down and use the Wise Eclipse addon. I don’t want to break down and do it (I get away with low DPS based on being a hybrid that doesn’t get priority, so I’m always half a tier behind on gear).

    http://druidreliquary.blogspot.com/2009/09/why-wiseeclipse-works.html

    • battlechicken

      Yeah, I discovered Wiseeclipse this morning. I was loathe to use another addon, but it’s not clunky at all. At this point, just about any help is welcome help.

      I try very hard not to move any more than absolutely necessary. Unfortunately, “absolutely necessary” happens often. Phase 2 H Beasts, for instance, is a nightmare of movement.

      The other thing I’ve noticed is that target-switching cuts down on dps quite a bit, but it can’t be helped. Snobolds have to be killed, Nether Portals have to be burned, etc. I refuse to not do something that will help the raid to boost my dps, that’s selfish. But it does hurt.

      Not to mention that every attempt that I use a battle rez on I lose significant dps while I get to the person, rez them, and switch back to moonkin. I wonder if anyone’s developed a macro that chains these events together.

  2. I’ve been impressed by every member of CCT that I’ve run across on Durotan. They all seem like good folks. I hope you figure out your DPS woes soon — I know it took me a while to navigate the changes from 3.08 to 3.1.

    • battlechicken

      Well thank you, I will pass that along!

      I’m sure I may be biased a bit; after all, I’ve been with CCT since the day I turned 70, but we have some awesome people. I consider many of our members friends, and I’m grateful to be with them.

  3. Azzybella

    We should talk! lol I am in Chimera and the only boomkin in my raid group. My DPS has been low as well in the new content and I have been frustrated to no end because no matter what I have done I can’t seem to get it past a certian point.

    I got some upgrades and am managing over 5K dps on most fights now. I am using 2pc t8.5 and 2pc t9.5 and it seems to be helping. From what I have heard it is just the way moonkin dps is. Even though they were supposed to fix our DPS it will still be lower than most pure dps classes.

    At least now I am in the range of some other casters and I can keep my raid spot hopefully.

    • battlechicken

      Yeah, we should definitely talk, then. I’m in 3 piece T9.25/1 pc T9 (hoping for that last next week!) and pulling about 4.5k in HToC25. It’s frustrating, because I’ve tried a lot of things, and I just can’t seem to get past it. Me and the shadow priests are kickin it at the bottom.

      Even in basically perfect attempt for me on H Northrend Beasts I was only at about 4.7k. When the rest of the dpsers are ranging from 5.5 to 7.5k, it makes me feel like I’m doing something wrong, even though I’m 95% sure I know what I’m doing.

      As I’m sure you know, it doesn’t help being the only moonkin in a raid group, because there’s no fair comparison. You know, if one of the three mages is consistently at 14 and the other two are in 3rd and 4th, then obviously it’s something to do with that mage. But you can’t compare the moonkin to the warlock and assume the moonkin’s doing something wrong, you know?

      • Azzybella

        ya NRB is weird.. We lose so much DPS changing targets.. Your RL should make sure the other casters are switching to adds like they should be. Also if the people with snobolds are not moving to where you can reach them, that could lower DPS as well. I wouldn’t judge overall DPS by that fight alone… Mele will be OP on that fight because they pretty much stay on one target.

        Also I read that having 2pc t9.5 and 2t8.5 is more DPS then 4pc t9.5 but I am not sure on the numbers.

        Here is my armory if you would like to take a look :)
        http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Durotan&cn=Azzybella

      • battlechicken

        Yeah, there’s some talk about 2pcT8/2pcT9 vs 4pcT9. Graylo’s numbers show that 4 pc T9 (I’m assuming that’s actually T9.5; he usually goes upper-level gear wise) is a dps boost. Because of that, I went over to the dummy with pen and paper and did a series of tests, taking their average damage done to find my dps. I found that my 4pcT9 setup was about (yeah, get this) 50 dps higher. That’s right, 50 dps. So it’s marginal. But since I was able to pick up another 9.25 piece, I’m going to stick with it for now.

        NRB sucks with all the target changing. I double check recount every time to make sure we’re all about even on the snobolds. If someone is slightly out of range with the snobolds, I just don’t bother killing them until they’re in range.

        Jaraxxus I do about 5.5k, but everyone’s dps is ramped during that fight anyway.

        Which addons do you use, if any? I’m rolling with Squawk and Awe and Wiseeclipse right now.

      • Azzybella

        I use quartz with the eclipse addon :)

  4. Capo

    ive ran into the dps problem alot. There was this D-bag rogue who had a boom also in my guild at one time. He had heroic gear and i was in uldar 10/25 gear and he would out dps me. I went over rotations with him, i did everything i could i maxed it all and still couldnt touch his dps. To this day i still have no idea why, he did go over rotation with me and i STILl was 1200 less than him.

    Anytime you wanna become horde and move servers, we will take you!

Leave a Reply

