Patch 3.2 Reactions

I promise I’m really going to do a Yogg strat (I promise!), but I can’t let this go unblogged.  I avoided posting during the Maelstrom of Patch 3.2 news because, like everyone else, I was kind of overwhelmed.  I never thought I’d say that I was ever given too much information…but that was certainly a bunch of info all at one time.  I’ve seen a lot of the same questions repeated across the interweb, so here’s my take on two of them:

WHEN?!When will the patch come out?

I don’t guess I’m surprised that this question has been splattered all over the forums and blogs across the WoW universe.  People are either going to panic about getting things done before the patch or are bored with the current standings and ready to do something different.  Some of us are feeling both.

I’ll be honest:  I think we have at least a month or two before the patch comes out.  I know a lot of people are predicting it either much sooner or much, much later, but following the PTR is usually a good measure of how long it’s going to be.  For those of you who played on the 3.1 PTR, you’ll remember the Ulduar boss-cycling.  Blizz tried to get that started last week with some issues, but once they get the train rolling, you can bet probably the equivalent of  a week per raid boss, so I’m guessing 6-8 weeks before the patch.  Maybe a little more.

But again, this is Blizzard’s ball game, and no one can accurately predict the patch day.  I’m not even sure the guys at Blizzard can give you more than a ballpark.

What are the changes to <insert class here> and why are they important (or not so much)?


L2P Chicken!

Yes, you need to know about the moonkin changes, because it’s going to be a pretty big adjustment to the way we play.  I’m going to skip over the complete druid list (for now) and go straight to the important moonkin stuff.

In news-writing, you learn to start with the most important facts.  I see the new Eclipse mechanic as the Number 1 thing-to-know about this patch:

Eclipse: The Starfire and Wrath buffs from this talent are now on separate 30-second cooldowns. In addition, it is not possible to have both buffs active simultaneously.

I’ve been experimenting with this a little on the PTR, and I haven’t settled on a rotation yet.  I’m sure it will end up being a question of math, and anyone who is familiar with my blog knows that math and I are not the best of friends, so I may end up defaulting to the theorycrafters on this one.  I can tell you, though, that regardless of the tweaks, you’ll be looking at a rotation that switches back and forth between the two Eclipses.  I’ve been testing something akin to Wrath -> SF Eclipse -> SF through Eclipse until Wrath Eclipse procs, although I’m not satisfied with the way this has played out just yet.

I’m still using Squawk & Awe on the PTR, but with this change, you might find yourself leaning more towards traditional DoT Timers.

Balance of Power: Now reduces all spell damage taken by 3/6%, rather than reducing the chance to be hit by spells by 2/4%.

I’m not sure how much of a real difference this is going to make, but I can see it working for us slightly.  Right now, if I were an NPC mage casting 9k fireballs at you, there is a chance that I will miss you, and that’s great.  But when I hit you, I’m still going to do 9k damage.  Fireball one misses, maybe; but fireball two lands on you for 9k, Fireball three lands on you for 9k, and crap, you’re about dead.  You’d better hope you get healed before the next one gets off, because if it hits, that last 9k is going to leave your corpse on the ground.

Now, with the new mechanic, if I’m that same mage, my Fireball is pretty much expected to hit you.  However, it’s going to hit you for 8.5k instead of 9k.  No, that’s not much, but it might be just enough extra time for you to get that healthstone off, or for a healer to shake off their tunnel vision and throw an appreciated heal your way.

It’s a small difference, I admit; but I’m willing to be optimistic about this.

And finally,

Innervate: Duration reduced to 10 seconds, and cooldown reduced to 3 minutes. This means each use of Innervate will give half as much mana as before, but it will be available twice as often.

I’m really not sure if this is going to be a huge mechanic change or not.  I mean, it will certainly feel very different, but it could mean that I get to use innervate more.  Right now, I use it during raids about 5 times a night.  4 times to keep me up through chain-pulling trash, and 1 time to innervate the resto druid that helps relieve some of my decursing during Phase 3 Yogg so I can actually DPS.  If this makes it a more useful spell; hey, I’m all for it.  I don’t see it as being a big deal, though.  I’ll know more after I get into those PTR raids.

There is a LOT more info in the patch notes I want to get through, but it’s been a very busy few weeks, so I’ll be dishing out my reactions slowly, hopefully by the end of this week I’ll have them all.

Deja Vu

Deja Vu

On top of that, I finally got my mage alt to 80 (yay!) and am farming up gold like crazy so as not to go broke buying her epic flight.  I ran a 10-man Naxx on her and got 5 great upgrades, so hopefully there will be more of her to come.

To all my chickens:  may your mana bar always be full and your Starfires crit often.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogstuff, Information

2 responses to “Patch 3.2 Reactions

  1. Twan

    I hope it comes sooner rather then later cause I’m feeling a little bored. I also want the patch to come so I can spend the 325+ champions seals I have been hording.

    • battlechicken

      I’m kind of on the fence. I love new content, always. But I really want to at least attempt an Algalon kill before it’s released. Please Blizz, just give us one more month. lol.

      I tried Trial of the Champion for the first time today, but I got critical errors three times during the instance and couldn’t log back in for hours. The first 5 minutes were pretty darn cool, though.

Leave a Reply

