Honestly Surprised (or, “Holy Crap, Someone Read My Blog!”)

I’m a shameless narcissist (I have a theory that most bloggers contain a fragment of this trait somewhere in their psyche), and therefore check my blog stats at least, oh, 15 times a day?  Most of the referring links I recognize, but when Destructive Reach popped up in the list today, I was curious.

In a surprise turn of events, I have received an award! This award is presented as follows:

“This award is bestowed upon a fellow blogger whose blog content or design is, in the giver’s opinion, brilliant.”

Brilliant is a lovely word, and one I could grow accustomed to! Thank you, Saresa; I’m honored.

There is a catch. To fully receive this award and not seem like a complete jerk, one is held to a few responsibilities:

1. When accepting this auspicious award, you must write a post bragging about it, including the name of the misguided soul who thinks you deserve such acclaim, and link back to the said person so everyone knows she/he is real.
2. Choose a minimum of seven (7) blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. Or improvise by including bloggers who have no idea who you are because you don’t have seven friends. Show the seven random victims’ names and links and leave a harassing comment informing them that they were prized with Honest Weblog. Well, there’s no prize, but they can keep the nifty icon.
3. List at least ten (10) honest things about yourself. Then pass it on!

Seven Brilliant Blogs
I only read a few blogs with any sort of regularity, so below is a mixture of blogs I love and why I read them, as well as new ones that I was drawn to after Googling “World of Warcraft blog” (and in case you were wondering, that’s A LOT of blogs).  I know a few of these bloggers are unlikely to participate in our little game, but that’s okay, I like them anyway.

Arcane Brilliance This was the very first blog that came to mind. Yes, I know it’s a function of WoW Insider, but in my opinion, it is the most knowledgeable and fun-to-read blog on the site. Christian’s wit is matched only by his hatred of warlocks (sorry Saresa!) and apparently, Spirit as a mage stat.

Project Lore Although Project Lore is an entity in and of itself, I read several of their blog posts today. I find it refreshing that they’re using it as a medium to bring forth issues that don’t necessarily come up in a lot of other WoW blogs, like “Are Casual Guilds Struggling?” (I actually posted, misspelling “border” to throw them off the scent…).

LoreCrafted Today was the very first time I’d even seen this, and I can tell you now, it will become a favorite. I am a lore nerd to the extreme. I play the games, read all the books, and even write fanfic. This blog was written for me, whether the folks at LoreCrafted realize it or not.

World of Warcraft Wanderings I’d been sifting through quite a few blogs by the time I hit on Kim Dowd’s. I like how she successfully presents a slice-of-life WoW experience without sounding trite or boring. I especially appreciate her post “Slain by Puppy Dog Eyes,” as I have also been victim to the “we could really use a healer…” and “could you respec for the run?” whispers on many heroics and 10-mans.

The Egotistical Priest I’ll admit it, I almost didn’t want to link this one. It puts my poor little blog to shame, but my pride aside, it really is an awesome resource for all things WoW. I especially love “The Essential Ego” collection. YES, please, for the love of all things holy (like healers…) LRN2AGGRO. If you make it to level 80 and you don’t understand aggro mechanics, you fail. Thank you for addressing that, Vonya; it made me cluck happily in that silly way moonkin do.

WoWGrrl I have run across this blog a few times when searching for random things, and it’s a great blend of information and random crap that will make you giggle.  Her video about using the Traveller’s Tundra Mammoth to send your fellow faction members to their death is genius, I highly recommend it and will certainly be trying it with my fiancee’s mage soon.

Wrath of the Boomkin I couldn’t possibly finish this list without mentioning Boomdaddy. He has been a faithful reader over the past couple of months as I’ve gotten my blogging feet wet, and I appreciate that he shares my MOAR DPS hunger. The other night he posted about his guild’s first 2 night Naxx clear, and I found myself cheering for their progress.

Ambermist: 10 Things About Me You  Never Thought You’d Want to Know and Probably Still Don’t

1.  I secretly (well, not anymore) hated when my fiancee’s (and now mine, so don’t go burning down my house) friend joined the guild back in Burning Crusade.  He’s a theorycrafter and an amazing player.  And he came in as a resto druid and my ARCHNEMESIS.  But really, he’s awesome, I’m just jealous.

2.  I practically survive on Diet Pepsi.  If I ever end up in the hospital, someone needs to instruct the doctors to hook up an IV with the light, bubbly concoction.  It will sustain me.

3.  My daughter is hilarious AND annoying.  But she’s 4, and it comes with the territory.

4.  I have a pet turtle on Facebook named for our guild master.

5.  I’m getting married in 9 days.  Expect me not to post for a week afterward.  I will be exploring an entirely different “raid” alone with Ultraking in an isolated cabin.

6.  My 9.5 month old son watches TV.  The only way to stop him from watching it is to turn it off, and the rest of the house protests if I do that.  He also likes to throw things and thinks wires are cool (a dangerous thing in our house that has made babyproofing a nightmare).  He will be a fine gamer.

7.  I keep more things in my WoW bank than I have money in the real world.  I kept my Light’s Justice from Karazhan (first raid loot I ever received!), and I still have Aran’s Soothing Sapphire because it has my son’s name in it (yes, my son’s name is really Aran), along with all of my Tier 6.

8. We still haven’t bought curtains for some of our windows, and we’ve been in this house since June. I keep meaning to, but I never think of it when I’m in the store. In a related note, please stop spying on us. We see you.

9. There are a few people in my guild that absolutely drive me up the wall, and at least a few of them know who they are. I suppose that’s natural, but it feels good to say it anyway.

10. I love The Guild. This requires no explanation, it simply is.

Having fulfilled my contractual obligations upon accepting this award, I want to thank my fellow bloggers, and let you all know that I have a severe case of carpal tunnel and think I should go lie down.

3 Comments

Filed under Blogstuff

3 responses to “Honestly Surprised (or, “Holy Crap, Someone Read My Blog!”)

  1. Thank you so much for the tag and congratulations on the upcoming wedding!

  2. battlechicken

    Thanks! And no problem, you totally deserve it. :-)

  3. Gratz on the award!! oh, and the wedding :)

    Thanks for the link love too, you are a star!

Leave a Reply

