Sartharion 3D & My Wake Up Call

Last Tuesday, I did not get a raid invite.  In the past year, I can probably count on one hand the number of times I have been unexpectedly excluded from a raid, and each time, I got a whisper from officer explaining why.  But Tuesday, I didn’t get an invite, and I didn’t get a whisper.  Or an in game mail.  Or a guildportal mail.  I felt irritated and abandoned.

On Wednesday, I considered not logging in at all.  Or declining my Naxx farming invite (if I can’t progress, why should I farm?!).  But like a trained seal I logged on and accepted the invite, and boy, am I glad I did.  One of our inconsistent raiders was on, someone who knows a lot about the classes he plays but still plays one too many, and he was playing a moonkin.  And this guy was kicking my ass on the meter.

Finally (with a lot of encouragement from my mageboy fiance), I whispered him and asked him how the hell he was beating me on the meter.  We started discussing spell rotation and I realized I was way off.  Then he told me that he had recently sucked on a 10-man 3D Sarth PuG and done some research.  Research?  When I respecced, there was nothing on LK moonkin.  I decided to investigate.

I started with a guide on the druid class forums.  I changed my spell rotation, I switched out some gems here and there and updated my enchants.  I downloaded Squawk and Awe; I’m still not sure how I completely missed an addon that important.  I’m not kidding, my base DPS went up at least 1000 the next day.

I sent a guildportal message to one of our officers, and reminded him that I’m a consistent raider, and that if there’s a problem, I deserve to know about it so I can fix it.  He agreed, and I told him about my increase in DPS.  I got an invite to the next Sarth 3D raid.

We’re still beating our head against it a little.  Last night we tried a DK tank, which seemed to work really well once they got a rotation going with his abilities and his healers.  However, by the time they got that worked out, the DPS was worn out and unfocused, and people started dying to blue circles and fire walls again.  We finally finished it off with two drakes, and we’re going back to Sarth 3D tonight. I’m not putting a picture on this post because I hope by my next post I’ll have a kill shot for you.

I hovered around 10th in damage.  It’s a start.

2 Comments

Filed under Experiences

2 responses to “Sartharion 3D & My Wake Up Call

  1. Awww.

    I typed up this huge reply to this trying to encourage you and I ranted for a while about how valuable a raider is to my team if they actually care about what they’re doing.

    Unfortunately I don’t have time to type it all up again, but you’re the kind of DPS player I search for. What I wouldn’t do to have a team of DPS who think, “Hmm, I’m dipping low… I’m going to find out why!” instead of “Oh, I’m dipping low, it’s because my class sucks and I got nerfed and well, he has better gear than me and no I don’t need hit gear and……”

    Another thing, I’m looking for link buddies! Would you be interested in exchanging blogroll links with me? My blog is:
    name: miss elf
    URL: http://misself.wordpress.com

    Thanks and good luck pewpewing!

    • battlechicken

      Well, I have continued to look into improving myself, and last night I think I quite proved it. Unfortunately, it was too late for me to get invited to the first Sarth 3D kill; they killed him for the first time Monday; I got my chance Tuesday.

      It’s the first progression kill I’ve been excluded from since I became a full-time raider, and I came very close to just /gquitting, deleting this blog, and leveling my mage. Thankfully, my mageboy talked me down (I don’t think he wants the competition)! I tracked down one of our realm’s better moonkin and we had a long talk on vent about things I can do to improve, which I should probably post in a new blog today. Last night I did considerably better on the meter; I’ll be checking out the WWS to confirm that today.

Leave a Reply

